Notes to the Milkman

If you should come and find the front gate faded,
It is because I never painted it white.

If you see the garden is filled with dead flowers,
It is because I did not tend to them.

If you see the mailbox filled with letters,
It is because I never had one address.

If you don’t see the little dog anywhere,
It is because I never had one.

If you should notice that my husband’s car is gone,
It is because I never had a husband.

If you should find no empty milk cartons on the porch,
It is because I never drank them.

If you look around and notice there are no children,
It is because I never had any.

If you peek in the windows and see the house empty,
It is because I never lived here.

You see, I never stopped studying the Graveyard poets.
And I don’t drink milk.

White_House_Farm

One thought on “Notes to the Milkman

Leave a Reply

