Rumble Child

I hear the train but I do not see it
At work it whizzes by and I look for it
In bed I hear it as my mind begins to touch dreams
I go to the window and listen again but it is gone
Nothing but the internal hum as it departs
Or is that my body humming longing
For that sound the sound I no longer hear
But I know it is there somewhere in my home
Town it promises movement travel an eternal
Rumble of change or perhaps I miss only its sound
Which I heard from my bed as a child it was comforting
But maybe only in the sense that the world moved
Around me while I lay still

railway-1638212_960_720

Leave a Reply

